Stories more than data

Every word of this post hits the mark. Listen to the patient, look away from the screen.

Heroes Not Zombies

paris park

Sometimes I think there are two kinds of people (that’s nonsense of course because there are as many “kinds” as there are people!). The two kinds I’d like to consider here are those who value stories, and those who value data.

I am still astonished when I remember the conversation I had with a young junior doctor who told me they were being taught “Don’t listen to the patient, they lie all the time. Only the results tell the truth” That is a data teacher talking, and, frankly, I think it’s scary to think such an attitude exists in doctors, especially doctors who are teaching young doctors. (by the way, do you remember a character called “Data“?)

What I love is the story. Every person I meet tells me a new story. It’s in the narrative that I can make sense of their suffering. It’s in the…

View original post 599 more words

Leave a Reply

